Posted in Uncategorized

The Naive Innocence

leon-comerre-the-deluge

(Source: The Deluge- Leon Comerre)

That clatter of the Utensils,
I hear from the kitchen,
Reminds me of mother…
but this time,
the sound is different

Mother,Mother,
Where are you?
They said they took you to the
Concentration Camp,
What is that mother,
Is this some kind of a camp,
we go to,on the hills,for a trek?

Why did you leave me mother,
The fragrance coming
from your clothes,
when I open your wardrobe,
makes me miss you.

Why did you go to the camp
without me? Do you guys sing around
the camp fire there? Why didn’t you
take me along Mom,
Why didn’t you.

I remember something
was bothering you
from sometime.

Did I do something
to make you sad?
Come back Mom,
I will do homework on time,
I won’t steal the cookies.

When I saw the smoke,
coming out of the Chimnies,
I told you Mom, see how
the bricks for our homes
are being made in furnaces,
because that is what was
taught to us at School.
You heaved a sigh and a teardrop escaped
your eyes. You told me its not bricks, Why did
the teacher back in School lie then?

I smelled the barbeque
and mutton being grilled somewhere
nearby, I asked you to take
me to have barbeque, you
put your head on the table,
when you raised it, your
eyes were swollen and crimson.

Why do teachers lie at School,
Why did you deny me the barbeque,
Why didn’t you take me to the camp with you…
Mom, I am angry with you..I wont talk to you,
but please come back.

© Muntaha Amin
(English Hons First Year)

Leave a comment