Posted in Uncategorized

AK-47s, Murders & Rapes

newspaper-headlines-osu-homecoming-crash-as-mass-shootingI woke up and went to pick up my 2 rupee Times of India,

Times of India?

No, more like Time to Leave!

Because that’s what all the conflict and chaos has rendered me to believe.

Our morning newspapers are just full of AK-47s, Murders & Rapes,

And I’m afraid to step outside.

Who the heck says that the LOC is in Kashmir?

I step out and it’s right outside my door.

When attacks happen,

Soldiers die and so do civilians,

The only things that win are animosity and hate.

I’m screaming here give me my rights,

But all they get is 6 sq. ft. of ground.

And I’m left wondering what happens to Jai Jawan Jai Kisan?

Our morning newspapers are just full of AK-47s, Murders & Rapes,

I’m afraid of this pseudo freedom.

They say that the walls are down,

But i still feel this chain that bounds our hearts.

Our morning newspapers are just full of AK-47s, Murders & Rapes.

There’s religion in our heads that’s for sure,

Islam says peace, so does Christianity, Judaism & Buddha or Gandhi.

Peace is what they preach!

Yet there’s unrest in our hearts,

Cold as the winter’s breeze.

Our morning newspapers are just full of AK-47s, Murders & Rapes.

We are a nation of the proud crooks,

We have rape capitals and gaushalas instead of patshals.

We erect statues of the living,

And drive the living to the stature of death.

We live in a time where ABP’s “Chain se sona hain toh jag jao” is more informative than

“THIS IS THE TONIGHT SHOW WITH ARNAB”.

Our morning newspapers are just full of AK-47s, Murders & Rapes,

And what do you care if a man loves a man and a women so the same?

The way I see it gay love is twice as manly and the other twice as passionate.

We live in a time where we are teaching A FOR APPLE

B FOR BALL

I FOR INTOLERANT

S FOR SEDITION

T FOR TERRORIST

With promises that are empty and pockets that are full; AAM AADMI KI JAI.

Where animals get votes and celebrity status,

And people get nothing,

We talk about lighting up the future,

When we can’t even light up homes.

Our morning newspapers are just full of AK-47s, Murders & Rapes.

I woke up and went to pick up my morning 2 rupee Times of India.

Times of India??

Yes, the Times of India!!

Because I’m gonna walk out that door and throw my fears away,

It is us who’ll write the news of tomorrow.

And our morning newspapers will be full of hope and happiness and not hate.

But for now…

Our morning newspapers are just full of AK-47s, Murders & Rapes.

-Haris Khan (First year, English)

Leave a comment